DriftCon 2015 – Team Tandem Format & Registration


Team Tandem registration for DriftCon is now open!

Teams of three will battle for a large cash prize on the Evergreen Speedway 3/8ths track.

A maximum of 12 teams will be allowed to compete in the DriftCon Team Tandem Competition. Teams will compete through 3 different track layouts.  Each layout will award teams with varying scores, and the team with the highest accumulated score after all 3 layouts will be crowned the 2015 DriftCon Team Tandem Champions. Their team name will also be etched onto the Team Tandem Cup.

No elimination competition! This means that all teams have an equal opportunity to put on an amazing show! Teams from last year wanted more seat time and this year they’ve got it! A team's endurance and strategy will be put to the test in this completely new competition format.

Coming up with a unique team name is encouraged. Team members are expected to visually coordinate with each other in some way.

Prize money will be determined by the number of teams competing.

Prize Payout Example:
1st: $1000
2nd: $500
3rd: $250

Note: Example shown above is based on 10 teams competing. The payout will increase or decrease based on the number of teams competing.

All cars must meet the following safety equipment requirements outlined by Evergreen Drift


The $300 team entry fee includes entry to morning/afternoon team tandem practice before DriftCon. It will also include three coupons for a percentage off of any Open Drift event this summer.

Team Tandem Tentative Schedule:

Sunday June 14, 2015:
8:00 - Back Gate Open / Tech Inspection
9:30 - MANDATORY Driver's Meeting / MEDIA Meeting
10:00 to 11:00 - Practice (Pro Am / Team Tandem)
11:00 to 12:00 - ProAm Qualifying
11:30 - Main Gates Open
12:00 to 12:15 - ProAm Scoring Break
12:15 to 12:30 - ProAm Qualifying Meeting
12:00 to 12:30 - Team Tandem Practice (Optional)
12:30 to 2:30 - ProAm Top 16 Competition to Finish
2:30 to 2:50 - Hoon-Off Burnout Competition
3:00 to 3:30 - Team Tandem Practice
3:30 to 5:30 - Team Tandem Competition
5:30 - Drifting & Car Show Awards Ceremony

Competition Format:

The Team Tandem Competition this year has been structured as a 3 stage competition with all teams competing in all 3 stages.  The first stage will be done on the standard or “Classic” Evergreen 3/8 track layout.  The second stage will be done on the reverse or “mini Irwindale” layout. And for the final stage, teams will get to pick their preference of layout PLUS an additional 1 minute of a “Freestyle Drifting Finale.” The intent with the freestyle is to put on a creative show for the spectators.

For the first and second stages of competition, teams will take 3 consecutive runs on the specified layout. Each run will be judged and teams will receive a score.  Only the highest of the 3 scores (best run of the 3) will be kept and added to their final team score.  This structure gives each team 3 chances to earn a score on each stage.

For the third and final stage each team will only get one run to put on their best show possible.

Track Layouts:

“Classic” (standard 3/8ths layout with the hairpin)
“Reverse” (Mini Irwindale 3/8ths layout)
"Classic" or "Reverse" layout w/ Freestyle Finale (team chooses track layout for their finale)

Judging / Scoring

Team Tandem is NOT judged like normal drifting competition.  Judges will be focusing on bananas (Proximity), and overall how should we say - “Teams Awesomeness”. Teams should be trying to drive within arm’s reach of one another. Drivers should be on the exact same line, with matching style and form. While line, style, angle and excitement will all continue to be judged factors, what we really want to see is synchronized style and performance. The lead driver is responsible for laying down the best line and the follow cars are to follow the lead driver and keep in as close proximity and uniformity as possible.

  1. Passing is discouraged. Teams should stay in order from start to finish.
  1. Drivers should not straighten up or make severe corrections.
  1. If a team member loses control or spins out/stops drifting and starts over this is considered a severe correction.
  2. Other points can be taken away / or added depending on a judge’s discretion.
  3. There will be no "restart" or "do-overs" for teams. No disputes and all judges' decisions are final.


1. Oliver Murphy - 10+ years certified mechanic in the performance import/automotive field. Owner of Guerrilla Tactics Automotive. Rotary specialist and long time drifting / racing enthusiast.
2. Bobby Pilar - Videographer for SE7EN1 studios and video editor for Forza Motorsports / Turn10 studios. Bobby has keen eye and been a long time enthusiast of drifting and all things automotive. Well known and long time Forza drift veteran. (https://vimeo.com/se7en1)
3. Aaron Leavvit - 2014 Evergreen Drift Grassroots champion.

Confirmed Teams (As of 6/13/15)

Backyard Build - Reigning 2014 DriftCon Team Tandem Champions
Travis Takamori
Marc Ulin
Tyler Campbell

TANDEM * KNIGHTS (previously known as Ben Whyte’s Angels)
Matt Vankirk
Cole Werner
Shain Cannon

Kakudo Ninjas
Brad Davis
Kristian Watkins
Nate Snyder

V Hate Gang
Eddy Gonzalez
Chris Johnson
Brandon Schmidt

Team Cream3.14
Alexander Barnett
Thomas Caro
Lyle Brown

DriftCon Facebook event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/466254683513962/

Photo via Kevin O'Rourke - EverClean State


About Author


Staff profile used to share our events and some of our favorite content on the internet. Some content shared by this profile may not be created by us but the content creator will always be credited.


Leave A Reply