DriftCon Afterdark 2017 – Car Show & Main Event Coverage


Entering it’s fourth year, our DriftCon series held at Evergreen Speedway continues to grow both in size and scope every season. DriftCon Afterdark was no different – except for the inclusion of a significant amount of PNW rainstorms. Despite the horrible weather we almost surpassed attendance numbers from DriftCon in June which was incredible!

Photos by Eddi Hughes. Video by Tony Hamblin / Hamcreatives. Text by Matt Haugness.

This year DriftCon Afterdark consisted of a Great 75 Car Show, Pro Am round 5 on the 5/8th’s bank, the Hoon-off Burnout Competition, and our DC Drift Games.

ProAm competition was intense with many drivers competing for the final EVD championship points. It came down to Matt Vankirk and Dalton Gernhart for the final battle and if Dalton won he would have taken the overall top spot. He ended up placing second overall with the top overall position going to Patrick Heald. Congratulations to Patrick and all of the other drivers who received their Formula Drift Pro 2 licenses.The DriftCon Drift Games returned with some tweaks to the format. The Parking Challenge and Drift Limbo were entertaining and exciting to watch once it got dark. New this year was the Big Entry Contest where the drivers were encouraged to charge as hard as they could at the initiation point. Lastly due to request, we did have a Team Tandem Showoff which was an informal version of our Team Tandem Competition. Overall we had the most drivers ever in attendance for the Drift Games with almost 60 cars on grid at times. Winners for the games can be found below.

Unfortunately due to the rain the Hoon-Off was canceled. It will be back in June 2018!

The car show was held alongside the track and again was limited to the “Great 75” so that we could have room for a large stage and dance area. With the show selling out about 3 weeks before the event the competition for these spots was . Some awards were determined by our traditional voting method but all of the Best of Show and Best Make awards were judged by our staff. Scroll to the bottom of this post to see a full list of the cars that won each award.

Thank you to everyone that attended DriftCon Afterdark 2017! We look forward to continuing these events in 2018 with your support!

Special thanks to all of the vendors and the following sponsors for their support of this event:
Hawk Performance
Urbn Panda
RHD Specialties LLC
Bardahl Manufacturing

More coverage:

Project 604
Matt Nelson | Inertia Images

ProAm Round 5 Podium Results

1st: Matt Vankirk
2nd: Dalton Gernhart
3rd: Lucas Dourado

Team Tandem Showoff Results

Winner: Mixed Breed

Parking Challenge Results

Winner: Daniel Barrett

Big Entry Competition Results

Winner: Chase Schmidt

Drift Limbo Results

Winner: Matt Vankirk

Hoon-Off Rained Out

Great 75 Car Show Results

ImportMeet.com Choice (VIP Parking)
Max Schmutzler – 1992 Nissan 240SX

Evergreen Speedway Choice (VIP Parking)
Jesse Khabra – 1985 Toyota Celica Supra

Urbn Panda Choice (VIP Parking)
Jefferson Mata – Red Nissan Skyline

Best Interior (Voted)
Ronnie Subillaga – 2001 Lexus GS300

Best Engine Bay (Voted)
Mallory Tatman – 2011 Subaru WRX STi

Best Exterior Finish (Voted)
Alex Cuervo – 2001 Lexus IS300

Best Import (Voted)
Austin Pennington – 1994 Mazda RX-7

Best Euro (Voted)
Mohammad Adib– 1999 BMW M3

Best Domestic (Voted)
Kyle Chrisman – 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Best Old School (Voted)
Mike Kim– 1978 Datsun 280Z

Best Stance (Judged by StanceWars)
Carlton McDonald – 2002 Audi A4

People’s Choice (Voted)
Trenton Culbert – 2006 Lexus IS350

Best Acura (Judged)
Doug Foster – 2003 Acura RSX

Best BMW (Judged)
Miguel Haquet – 2008 BMW M3

Best Honda (Judged)
Victor Nguyen – 2001 Honda S2000

Best Nissan Runner Up (Judged)
Simon Ko – 2015 Nissan GTR

Best Nissan (Judged)
Matt Nelson – 1989 Nissan Skyline GTR

Best Lexus (Judged)
Robert Winters – 2001 Lexus IS300

Best Mazda Runner Up (Judged)
Justin Kroman – 1992 Mazda Miata

Best Mazda (Judged)
Ben Olsen – 2002 Mazda Protege 5

Best Subaru (Judged)
Jonny Walker – 2005 Subaru Legacy GT

Best Toyota (Judged)
Alvaro Herrera – 1991 Toyota MR2

Best of Show Runner-Up (Judged)
Frank Moreno – 2005 Nissan 350Z

Best of Show (Judged)
Hiro Kanno – 2007 Ford Mustang


About Author

Matt Haugness

Matt created ImportMeet.com in 2011 after noticing a lack of media websites dedicated exclusively to import cars. Although he’s employed as an engineer and has no formal training in journalism, his skills continue to develop as the editor for the site. He enjoys writing feature car articles, technical build/project articles, and organizing events. Matt drives a 2001 Honda S2000 and a 1990 V8-swapped Mazda RX-7.


Leave A Reply