DriftCon Afterdark 2016 – Car Show & Main Event Coverage


Holding the last large outdoor car show event of the season in September is always a gamble. With the weather in the NW being so unpredictable the success of the event hinges completely on what Mother Nature decides to do.

Photos by Kenny B. and Nick/Melissa Poirier. Text by Matt Haugness.

We lucked out again this year and DriftCon Afterdark was amazing from a spectator turnout and driver standpoint. Almost 30 drivers showed up to compete in the Round 5 ProAm competition which was only bested in turnout by DriftCon in June.

ww-drifting-driftcon-ad-2016-6ww-drifting-driftcon-ad-2016-4ww-drifting-driftcon-ad-2016-2 ww-drifting-driftcon-ad-2016-3
For a full breakdown of the drifting competition be sure to check our sister site DriftCon.us.

After the main ProAm competition was over and the sun had set the more relaxed Team Hoon-Off and Drift Games started. The Team Hoon-Off presented by Hoonigan paired two drifters together to see which team could put on the best rolling burnout competition. Although only 3 teams ended up competing, they all put on a badass display with TJ Fry and Brad Davis taking first place. Brad even had a small fire in the engine compartment of his IS300 to end the show (his fire suppression put out the fire quickly before any damage could happen).

The Drift Games had a full schedule and unfortunately due to some mechanical failures during ProAm competition it was cut short to only the Drift Limbo. After Drift Limbo ended we moved into Tandem Mayhem/Open Drift so that the drifters could give ridealongs and have some fun at the last big drift event of the year. We’ll be making some changes to address the Drift Games to ensure some of the most exciting games are done earlier in the night.

ww-drifting-driftcon-ad-2016-5The car show was held alongside the track but this time was limited to the “Best 70” so that we could have room for a large stage and dance area. With the show selling out about 3 weeks before the event the competition for these spots was fierce. Also for the first time ever we also sold out of pre-sale VIP spots days in advance. In a change from DriftCon we came up with a hybrid vote/judge system to determine the winners. Some awards were determined by our traditional voting method but all of the Best of Show and Best Make awards were judged by our staff. This system worked really well we plan on using it again in the future! Scroll to the bottom of this post to see a full list of the cars that won each award.


Thank you to everyone that attended DriftCon Afterdark! We look forward to continuing these events and growing them even further in 2017.

Special thanks to all of the vendors and the following sponsors for their support of this event:
Hawk Performance
Urbn Panda
RHD Specialties LLC
Bardahl Manufacturing

More coverage:
Schofhauser Media
Nice Hunters
FSX Photography Part 1
FSX Photography Part 2


ProAm Round 5 Podium Results

1st: TJ Fry
2nd: Nate Snyder
3rd: Dio Ortiz II

Drift Limbo Competition Results

Winner: Lucas Duraudo


Team Hoon-Off (Burnout Competition) Results

1st: TJ Fry & Brad Davis
2nd: Cole Werner & Zach Farrar
3rd: Andrew Long & Tory Jelinek

Best 70 Car Show Results

ImportMeet.com Choice (VIP Parking)
Viet Vo – 1991 Acura Integra

Evergreen Speedway Choice (VIP Parking)
Paul Brownlie – 1989 Nissan 240SX

Urbn Panda Choice (VIP Parking)
Andrew Hewitt – 1993 Nissan 240SX Convertible

Best Interior (Voted)
Elizabeth Badau – 2000 Lexus GS300

Best Engine Bay (Voted)
Levi Mohorich – 1997 Nissan 240SX

Best Exterior Finish (Voted)
Eric Bullis – 1991 Skyline GT-R

Best Import (Voted)
Todd Reed – 1995 Nissan Skyline GTS25T

Best Euro (Voted)
Dominic Marquez – 2006 Audi A8L

Best Domestic (Voted)
Blake Jones – 2006 Ford Mustang

Best Old School (Voted)
  Caryl DelaRosa– 1989 Mazda RX-7

Best Stance (Judged by StanceWars)
Manav Dawar – 1991 Toyota MR2

Best Lighting (Judged by VLEDS)
Navid Haq – 2006 Mazda Speed6

People’s Choice (Voted)
Manav Dawar – 1991 Toyota MR2

 Best Acura (Judged)
  Stanley Yan – 2007 Acura TL

 Best Acura Runner Up (Judged)
  Douglas Foster – 2003 Acura RSX

Best Honda (Judged)
  Bilawal Rehman – 1997 Honda Civic

Best Nissan (Judged)
Levi Mohorich – 1997 Nissan 240SX

Best Nissan Runner-Up (Judged)
  Eric Bullis – 1991 Skyline GT-R

Best Infiniti (Judged)
  Colin Reed – 2004 Infiniti G35 Coupe

Best Mazda (Judged)
Austin Pennington – 1994 Mazda RX-7

Best Subaru (Judged)
 Mallory Tatman – 2011 Subaru STi

Best Volkswagen (Judged)
Jeremy Abendhoff – 2004 VW R32

Best of Show Runner-Up (Judged)
 Frank Moreno – 2005 Nissan 350Z

Best of Show (Judged)
Justin March – 1979 Honda Civic Wagon


About Author

Matt Haugness

Matt created ImportMeet.com in 2011 after noticing a lack of media websites dedicated exclusively to import cars. Although he’s employed as an engineer and has no formal training in journalism, his skills continue to develop as the editor for the site. He enjoys writing feature car articles, technical build/project articles, and organizing events. Matt drives a 2017 Toyota Tacoma TRD Off-Road, 2001 Honda S2000 and a 1990 V8-swapped Mazda RX-7.


Leave A Reply